top of page

From the Vault: Who, Me? Run?


This post originally appeared on WhiteGloveDestinations.com

Getting Sporty at Walt Disney World

Opportunities for the active or ‘sporty’ individuals and families abound at Walt Disney World. I will admit it blows my mind when I see people out for a jog or a power walk before spending the day at the parks. Good for them, not my bag. But I digress.

My husband and I have enjoyed two very special sporting encounters during our trips to WDW: in 2010, I ran a 5k and in 2011, my husband did a ride along at the Richard Petty Driving Experience.

Run, Rebecca, Run

I should to tell you that I only trained to run the 5k because it was a bribe. My hubby wanted me to have a goal to work towards, and (because he’s really smart) he knew that running through the Magic Kingdom was an incentive I couldn’t pass up. Using the ‘Couch to 5k’ program, I was able to run, without stopping, for 30 minutes on the treadmill in about three months. It took another month to build that stamina for running outside on sidewalks, cement, pavement, etc.

I would also like to say that it was a super magical experience running in Disney. 90 percent of it was fantastic. Getting up at 430 AM while on vacationis not what I consider to fall under the auspices of a good time. I did surprise myself and run for the entire course, which started at the Transportation and Ticket Center, down the hill and under the tunnel in front of the Contemporary, then hung a left into the Magic Kingdom bus loop. It was pretty darn cool to run right up the middle of Main Street USA and past Cinderella’s Castle. I regret not stopping to take any photos with the characters along the way, but I’ll be sure to do that next time. Hubby and I are signed up for the Family Fun Run 5k during Marathon Weekend at WDW in January 2015 (aka another bribe).

A Ride on the Wild Side

Hubby has been a NASCAR fan since a very young age, and he has dragged me into it – although not kicking and screaming. We have taken several mini vacations to races over the years and always enjoy ourselves. In 2008, we paired a Disney trip with the Daytona 500…very, very cool!

On our 5th wedding anniversary trip to WDW in November 2011, my gift to hubby was a three-lap ride along at the Richard Petty Driving Experience. We had breakfast at Ohana and then walked over towards the Pet Care Center turned Lost and Found where the van picked us up for the short ride to the track. Hubby suited up in the standard fire suit worn by drivers and was given a giant helmet. He had to crawl through the window to get into the car (his least favorite part), but he loved being the passenger in a car that went about 170 miles per hour.

There are a lot of other programs at the track, but you have to be able to drive a standard transmission to participate.

Other Sporting Opportunities

  • There are several golf courses at WDW, both full-on and miniature. I’ve not had the opportunity to experience any of them, so that’s a post for another day.

  • Many of the deluxe resorts have tennis courts on the property. If you fancy a game, set, match, be sure to bring your gear.

  • If being a spectator is more your thing, check out the ESPN Club restaurant on the Boardwalk. Lots of big screens to catch the game, even a screen outside. There’s also the ESPN complex off property where the Atlanta Braves hold their spring training every year.

bottom of page