top of page

Disney, Table for One...


As a parent, doing anything 'alone' (even a trip to the grocery store) is a treat. To have only the thoughts in your own head and not worry if your toddler is going to upset the nectarine display - it's a thing of beauty.

Some folks might be surprised to learn that I've gone to Disney solo twice in the past few years. The first time was in 2013 and then again earlier this year - both were to attend a conference related to work. Even though my days were spent learning, networking and schmoozing, I did have some free time to explore the parks. ALONE.

In 2013, I was still living in NJ and didn't have an Annual Pass. But I was able to secure a special "After Hours" ticket (read more here) and spend some time in the Magic Kingdom and Epcot after the conference. The weather was wonderful and I was able to wear shorts! In February! When I had 'time to kill', I sat in the lobby of the Polynesian, read a book, watched people come and go, and even had dinner alone at Kona Cafe.

In February 2015, as an AP, I took a ridiculously early flight to MCO and was able to spend a few chilly hours in the Magic Kingdom where I indulged in some character greetings and a Dole Whip before an early bedtime. I also treated myself to dinner at Epcot - braving the 'bitter cold' (40 degrees) to enjoy World Showcase and IllumiNations. The weather didn't cooperate, but I didn't care...it's hard to be chilly when you're in the middle of the magic.

I know some folks who have taken longer solo vacations to the parks, and that's a dream for 'someday', I suppose. But if you ever have a chance to attend a conferece at Disney - DO IT. As with so many things that Disney does well, conferences are fantastic. Great set up, wonderful service and delicious food.

bottom of page