top of page

Disney Savings: Feet and Faces


Sorry, team. This isn't a post about how to pinch pennies at Disney or even how to save up for your trip. It is about the two most important body parts involved in your vacation and how to save your feet and your face while enjoying endless miles of walking in the relentless Florida heat.

For several years, I just assumed blisters were part of every Disney vacation. We'd get blisters - seriously EPIC blisters, drain them, cover with BandAids and limp through our trips. One trip, hubby's blisters were so bad that he had to wear socks in his Crocs (see photo!). This was despite wearing broken-in, supportive shoes.

In February of 2016, moleskin was introduced and my life has been forever changed. For just a few dollars at the drug store (or Target, in my case), I can prevent blisters before they even start by taping up the toes most likely to blister despite the best-fitting shoes and socks. I've found that this also helps with overall foot-tiredness (is that a word?). During past trips, my feet would ache because I was walking funny to avoid the painful blisters. I don't have that problem now and I don't get big, ugly blisters either.

Faces are a bit easier - a trusty hat and sunscreen are a good place to start. I also use moisturizing lotion with SPF and my make up has SPF as well. Re-apply throughout the day if you're a sweaty mess and try to use a sport formula of sunscreen that won't run in your eyes. Be sure to wear sunglasses, too - try to get your kiddos to follow suit and ensure they are covered when napping in the stroller.

Take lots of breaks. In addition to walking, you do a lot of standing around in line while waiting for rides and attractions. A well-timed Monorail loop (or six) can provide a scenic, air-conditioned break. The Hall of Presidents and the American Adventure are great places to cool off, avoid the rain, and rest your weary feet.

What are your Disney survival tips?

bottom of page