top of page

Disney: Party of One


I've blogged about this before, but since 'conference' season will soon be upon us, here's a refreshed look at ways to enjoy Walt Disney World SOLO. What are YOUR tips?

1. Make a reservation at a restaurant where your spouse/kids would NEVER want to go - for me, that would probably be Jiko.

2. Take advantage of single rider lines - no reason to wait around and you'll meet some fun people in the process.

3. Relax a little - for a mom like me, the ability to sleep in and go to bed whenever without having to do dishes or other housework afterwards is a treat. I love to curl up in bed and read, no disruptions.

4, Relax A LOT - if you're not an Annual Passholder and don't want to spend money on a park ticket, consider booking some spa treatments. The facilities at WDW are worldclass and I guarantee you'll love it.

5. Shop 'til you drop - same reason as #4, if you're not an AP but want to get some Disney flavor while picking up souvenirs for the family, check out Disney Springs and grab a pint at Raglan Road. Shopping is thirsty work!

6. Slow down - when I travel alone, I don't do very many rides. Instead, I take in the live entertainment that my toddler doesn't have the attention span for. And yes, I sing along to British Revolution.

7. Resort hop - again, if you don't want to pay park admission, consider resort hopping. Each and every Disney resort hotel is unique and has amazing things to offer in the lobby. My top tips are the Grand Floridian for live music in the late afternoon and Wilderness Lodge ANY time to sit by the fire in a rocking chair.

bottom of page