top of page

The Story of How I Became "A Mom With Mouse Ears”

Whenever I open my mouth to talk about my love of Disney, people will sometimes ask how on earth I got so ‘into’ it all. So here you go.

I was lucky enough to visit the Walt Disney World® Resort as a young child. Although I’d be lying if I said that I can perfectly recall every single visit, there are plenty of photos. For better or worse, I do remember visiting as a teenager, taking my best friend with me (and my Dad) and getting into an argument with said BFF and essentially leaving her at a theme park. Yeah, I was a teenager. And yes, we are STILL friends.

Skip forward about 15 years. I’m 29. Living with the boyfriend (who is now my husband, lest ye judge) and making plans for a vacation to celebrate my 30th birthday. I have a travel agent, a budget and no idea what I want except that I DO NOT want to be anywhere this side of reality for a few days.

After researching numerous all-inclusive resorts and similar packages in tropical locales, boyfriend-turned-hubby says, “What about Disney World?” I probably looked at him sideways, but then put it back to the travel agent. Not only was the trip within budget soup-to-nuts (hotel, airfare and food), it didn’t break the bank. The weather was amazing and I cried when we left. I was hooked.

That was the first of nearly 20 trips over the last 12 years. It didn’t take long for me to become ‘that person’; the one friends and family turn to when they’re planning their own trips. The writer of blogs. The Annual Passholder. And the luckiest Disney Princess this side of the Mississippi.

bottom of page