top of page

Disney FAQ: What's the best age to take my kid(s) to the parks?


Don't you love this question? I know I do...enabler that I am. Ronan was just five (5) months old when I took him to the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida for the first time. He had the best possible time an infant can have - and even though he wasn't a fan of sleeping in a Pack and Play, the characters, shows, everything was unicorns and rainbows.

Fast forward to his first birthday, when I planned an aggressive agenda for our trip that was almost completely upended by a child who was terrified of everything. We did manage to get some big smiles out of him courtesy of Barbara at Main Street Barber Shop. Need a laugh? Look in the mirror behind Ronan and you can see how many relatives crammed into that tiny space to take his picture! We also marked this special occasion with family photos on the beach at the Polynesian.

Look, you know your kid(s) the best. And you know your own tolerance for b.s. If you're lucky enough to be able to take your family to the Parks more than once in their life, go for it. If you want to wait, that's fine, too. As with so many things involving kids and life and family STUFF, even the timing you think may be ideal today might not be in another year.

All this to say, there's not one right answer. But you'd better believe I'll keep taking Ronan to Disney as long as there's breath in my body and money in my bank account.

bottom of page