top of page

Remembering Mayor Weaver (Updated 1/9/18 with more photos!)


Readers, this post is very hard for me to write. And perhaps you'll think me foolish for being verbose over a Walt Disney World Cast Member. But if you'll indulge me, I'd like to share some memories of Mayor Christopher George Weaver of Main Street USA - who passed away on Christmas Eve (December 24, 2017) at age 84.

My earliest memory of Mayor Weaver dates so many years back that I honestly can't remember what year it was. The boyfriend (now hubby) and I had a lunch reservation at the Plaza Restaurant, and about 3/4 of the way through our meal, Mayor Weaver walked in. He first recognized a long-time Cast Member (one of the waitresses) and then went through a fun exercise where he asked where people were from, asking us to raise our hands then slowly narrowed it down so that I was the only person with my hand up. Mayor Weaver asked to find the "Farrell family from New Jersey", presented us with a certificate of being the restaurant's 100th customer that day and sat down for a photo. This was the beginning of what would become an enduring friendship with the Good Mayor.

Fast forward to 2014, planning R's first birthday trip to WDW, a trip that would include Mickey's Not-So-Scary Halloween Party. I was at a total loss when it came to costumes. My husband suggested Mayor Weaver, and this led me to a feverish search of Etsy where I found a brilliant seamstress to create a custom costume for the kid that was a complete and total hit with everyone involved.

From that point forward, Ronan became known as Mayor Weaver's "Mini Me". Our dear friend Aurora, also a Cast Member, met the Mayor in the employee commissary one day, saying, "I'm friends with your 'Mini Me.'" This led to her sharing photos with the Mayor so that he'd have them on his phone. Needless to say, that thrilled us to no end!

Here's a 5-minute video of the Magic Kingdom 'Welcome Show' in 2015 featuring Mayor Weaver (and R and hubby):

On our return trips to WDW over the years, and there have been A LOT of them, we make it a point to see out Mayor Weaver so that he can see how Ronan is growing since those early days. It was always a thrill to see him and to pose for a photo together. The best was when he'd hand over one of his business cards and say, "This here will get you to the back of any line for any ride in the park." I love a corny joke, and that's one of the best. My younger sister even got in on the action, snapping a few selfies with the Mayor over the years.

Enough sadness for now, that's not how I want to remember our friend. I know he's smiling down on everyone who continues to visit the Disney Parks and make memories each day.

bottom of page