top of page

Confession Time: I'm Cheap, but I Still Love Disney


You guys, I'm cheap. That's a short, sweet way of saying that as I get older, I'm more and more aware of the value of money. I compare prices and values at different grocery stores, dry cleaners, gas stations. Ask my husband about the spreadsheet I created many years ago comparing prices of two online grocery delivery services. 'Twas a thing of beauty!

I must say that I was very, VERY aware of the price of things on a recent trip to Walt Disney World. I mean, how can you NOT be when two hot dogs with fries and drinks costs almost $30. That's right. And breakfast at Be Our Guest was $42 for two people, the smaller individual, due to food allergies, could only have cold cereal with a side of fruit. Poor kid couldn't even have any of the 'assorted pastries'. I almost punched the purple wall. RIDICULOUS.

You may recall that I'm a BIG fan of taking your own food into the Disney Parks when you're on vacation. Based on my recent experience, even a big grocery order via Amazon Prime Now or Garden Grocer (or other delivery services) would be a HUGE savings over $42 cold cereal breakfasts and $30 hot dogs. I did get wise and ordered only kids meals when there was

I've learned my lesson. Disney trips should include, at the VERY LEAST, packed snacks, cereal bars for breakfast, shelf-stable coffee creamer, a refillable water bottle, small cooler and ice pack(s), zip top plastic bags and some plastic containers for food. Time and budget permitting, I'll get my hands on a loaf of bread, peanut butter and jelly for sandwiches, some fresh fruit for snacks. That way I'm maybe only shelling out $30 a day for a decent quick service dinner.

So there you have it. I'm cheap, but I still love Disney. I just don't love spending $30 on hot dogs, so I won't be doing that any more.

bottom of page