top of page

Suggestion Box: Disney Cruise Line Edition


At the end of our recent Disney Cruise Line adventure on the Dream, we were asked to fill out a lengthy comment card. Of course I took the time to do it, but I realized - upon further reflection - that there are several more suggestions I have for DCL. The one thing that should NEVER change is the all-you-can-eat soft serve ice cream. OMG. I miss that. Anyway, here are my other ideas:

1. You've got to do more to entertain the kids at dinner - if you expect young children (and their parents) to sit through a 90-minute+ meal, there has to be something going on. Animator's Palate was a welcome respite on two of our four nights onboard because there was just enough going on to distract from the long waits for food. Why not add characters who circulate for photos? Tiana, Prince Naveen and others in Enchanted Garden...all of the princesses at the Royal Palace. Families are already paying a premium for the DCL experience, I think you can step it up.

2. Lose (at least half of) the screens in the kids club - you don't have to dig too deep into literature to learn about the negative impact of too much screen time on kids. My son is a prime example of that. And even though Disney has plenty of inventory when it comes to TV and movies - I thought it was pretty crappy that more than half of the entertainment in the Oceaneer Club was screens. I think DCL could be a lot more creative and find other ways to entertain the kids without so much time as tiny digital zombies.

3. Vary the kids meal offerings - yes, my kid is all about macaroni and cheese, pizza and fries. But I would much rather he had the opportunity to try different cuisines. This might be more of a lesson learned for yours truly, but in the future, I'll probably order from the adults menu for him so that he gets more variety. He can have all that junk at home - I'd rather expand his palate.

4. Enforce the no-reserving-chairs policy - there are signs all over the ship saying that you can't reserve deck chairs with personal items or towels, but everybody does it! If you're going to post those signs, enforce them. It won't take people long to get the hint.

5. Figure out a way to make a shorter walk from the ship to the beach at Castaway Cay - or make some shade. Do something. It's too far, it's too hot. It's just too much. Golf carts? Trams? Anything. I'm begging you.

bottom of page