top of page

Disney January 2019 Trip Report - Part 3

Be sure to 'go back in time' and check out part 1 and part 2 of my trip report.

Another few photos and thoughts on food from Epcot. It really grinds my gears that so many people say this park isn't for small kids. We've always had fun here, especially with kiddo in tow - the rides are mostly slow and gentle and since HRH is fascinated by fish and trains, we always manage to spend many happy hours here.

On our last several trips, we've started our Epcot trips with a very special ritual - my maternal grandparents did the 'Leave a Legacy' project many years ago. Their image is in the front of Future World after you enter the park. So we make a beeline for that photo, give their photo a little smooch and then go on about our business.

Ronan also had a lot of fun exploring the China pavilion, which is even more poignant at this point in time since he's learning Mandarin at school this year. He also had occasion to sing some of his Mandarin songs to our CM server at The Plaza restaurant on our last day, but I don't have video of that...it was just nice to have all of his hard work pay off in such an adorable way.

Food at Epcot is fairly underwhelming, at least from my POV. Liberty Inn in the America pavilion has foot-long hot dogs. Yes, the men like those. No, I don't. I had a salad. There's too much food that costs too much money and a fair amount of it goes uneaten/wasted. I'm not alone in thinking that this restaurant needs an overhaul. Sigh.

We did, however, have a great (albeit very late) lunch at Sunshine Seasons in the Land pavilion in Future World. The sesame tuna cold noodle salad remains on the menu and is a dish that I actually daydream about and very much look forward to enjoying on each trip. Ronan can enjoy the macaroni and cheese (even though he won't eat the side of green beans) and is usually an expeditious eater when he knows that a ride on Living with the Land is just around the corner.

One evening of our trip, we headed to Tutto Italia for dinner. I had a pretty bad headache from lack of sleep, so opted for soup, which was just what I wanted. Ronan had an egg-free pizza and hubby went with pasta (of course). It wasn't a great night for us, as hubby had run the marathon earlier that day (post to come), was exhausted and running a fever from the inflammation in his body post-run. Kiddo was off the charts amped up, we got some ice cream which he promptly puked up. Truly not our finest hour and hopefully something I'll be able to wipe from my memory not that it's been immortalized on my blog.

Let me just close by saying that I'm really NOT a fan of being in Epcot on weekend evenings because there are so many groups of people who come to the park to do nothing but drink to get drunk. They are then stumbling around the park, swearing (don't at me) loudly around little kids, and just plain being obnoxious. This is happening more and more, and it just sours the experience for so many people. I'd appreciate any reader advice on how to enjoy evenings at Epcot that don't include drunken fools - we're not in college anymore, people. Come on.

bottom of page