top of page

Is There a Problem with the 'Disney Bubble'?

I freaking love going to Disney World. If you're reading my blog, or know me (even a little), you realize this might also be the understatement of the year. There are a lot of reasons that I love it, not the least of which is that I'm on vacation - a break from reality.

Another reason is that I don't have to worry about my son's food allergies when I'm there. The Cast Members take excellent care of us, ensuring that we have egg-free options at every meal.

The other great part of being in the Disney bubble is that everything is awesome. The weather is usually pretty great, there's a swimming pool around every corner, Dole Whips (duh), memories of childhood, adulthood, and my son growing up before my eyes fill each park -- and my heart - with joy, near to bursting.

Sitting here, it's Monday morning, I'm at one of those indoor bounce house nightmare places with His Majesty and I'm lamenting that we don't have any other WDW trips planned for this year (at least not yet). The 'day job' has been beating me down with a very large stick, making it hard to see beyond the next few days much less a few month into the future to plan a vacation.

So my issue is this - Disney is my escape, but is that escape detrimental? Do a few days of unlimited food choices, lounging by the pool while His Majesty enjoys the splash pad, rides, music, smiling faces, ruin me for the stark reality of, well, reality?

I think they just might.

But that doesn't mean I'm going to stop going to Disney World - far from it. I think, instead, that I'll start planning my next trip right now. Hugs, reader...whether you need it or not.

Post-script: You may recall that we were at Disney, celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary, on the eve of the last election. When I went to bed, it appeared as though our candidate had it in the bag. When hubby came to bed a few hours later, the opposite was true. I lay awake for hours after that, trying to process the outcome...in fact, I don't think that I went back to sleep much at all. The next day, there was a sense of quiet over the parks that I definitely noticed. People seemed fairly subdued, it being a theme park and all, and I had a screaming migraine from lack of sleep. But I was in the Disney bubble, and even though that migraine got so bad that I was physically ill later that night, I was sick at Disney - and felt much better the next day (in body anyway, if not in spirit).

bottom of page