top of page

Arabian Nights (kinda)...

During the last few months of the COVID-19 lockdown, without the stresses of work commutes, after-care pickup, and traffic, there was a *little* more time to brainstorm ways that would make dinner less blah/boring.


The theme nights came about through a marriage of my silly drawings, our Disney+ subscription, and the need to feed my family…and started with May 4th, celebrated by Star Wars stans worldwide and it has just kept going.


This is the first of numerous posts where I’ll share photos and links (where relevant) to the recipes and products used so that you can create your own theme night at home!


If there’s no link or separate recipe, it’s because you’re welcome to use whatever recipe you like (or, in most cases, the recipe was rubbish and I won’t waste your time with it).


Middle East/Mediterranean Theme Night

Movie: Aladdin

Drink: Lemonade (because it was too hot for tea)

Entree: Chicken kabobs, falafel (I used Trader Joe's mix)

Sides: Pita, Greek salad, mushroom-herb cous cous


For this meal, I made my Zoe's Kitchen knock-off 'Greek' chicken, which marinates all day and then is grilled. The salad includes kalamata olives, feta cheese, and cucumbers plus a simple dressing of olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. Not pictured is the homemade tzatziki sauce that's also included in the link above. I also made a super-simplified version of baklava because Ronan is allergic to walnuts and I couldn't risk a bakery version.










bottom of page