top of page

Dig a Little Deeper - The Princess and the Frog Theme Night

If there’s no link or separate recipe, it’s because you’re welcome to use whatever recipe you like (or, in most cases, the recipe was rubbish and I won’t waste your time with it).


Movie: The Princess and the Frog

Drink: Swamp Water (blue raspberry Kool-Aid with one drop of yellow food coloring to turn it green and dropped in Swedish fish)

Entree: Muffaletta sandwiches - if you have room in your fridge to 'smush' the sandwich with bricks or a cast iron skillet, go for it. My 'heavy books' method was just so-so.

Sides: Red beans and rice (see photos, purchased this brand at ALDI)

Dessert: Beignets


Note: I went through three packets of yeast and could NOT get it to bloom to make dough for the beignets. My 'back up' was to use fresh pizza dough and just fry it up. Topped with honey and powdered sugar - they were amazing. I also learned, after the fact, that there is such a thing as a beignet mix (in a box, think Bisquick). Maybe I'll try that next time!












bottom of page